Giada De Laurentiis’ Red Wine Risotto with Peas

Dinner last night was based on three important facts:

1. I love Risotto

2. I am a HUGE Giada De Laurentiis fan

3. I had a quarter bottle of red wine left over from Saturday’s party that I needed to use

Thus, Giada’s Red Wine Risotto with Peas made its way onto my table.

I have made countless Giada De Laurentiis recipes over the years and many have become my all time favorite dishes to cook and eat.  My little sister and I have a tradition, every year for Christmas she gets me one of Giada’s cookbooks.  Though their pages are stained with batter, olive oil and tomato sauce from repeated use, there remain recipes that I haven’t tried.  This was my first time making her red wine risotto with peas and it was everything I have come to rely on when I choose a De Laurentiis recipe.  Giada’s food is simple, delicous Italian fare that is both elegant and decadent without being over the top or containing crazy ingredients and virtuoso techniques.  Giada makes Italian food accessable, delicious and fun!

It only took me about 30 minutes to make to make this risotto and it tasted so good I think I might make it again tonight.   The original recipe can be found here.  Below is my slightly altered ingredient list.  Take my suggestions, or make it Giada’s original way, either way this dish is sure to please.

3.5 cups low sodium vegetable broth (I used veggie broth so that it was vegetarian)
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup chopped red onion (I love the flavor of red onion)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup red wine
2/3 cup frozen peas, defrosted (I like peas so I added more)
1/4 cup chopped Italian parsley
1/4 cup grated Parmesean
1/4 cup goat cheese (the addition of creamy goat cheese adds a fresh tangy flavor)
Salt and Pepper to taste

You can find Giada’s recipes on her website, on foodnetwork.com or in one of her 5 cookbooks.

About acperry28

The humble observations and adventures of a self-trained cook and self-made foodie.
This entry was posted in Recommended Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

